PROCEEDINGS OF SPIE

Ultrafast Phenomena and Nanophotonics XXVI

Markus Betz Abdulhakem Y. Elezzabi Editors

22–27 January 2022 San Francisco, California, United States

20–24 February 2022 ONLINE

Sponsored and Published by SPIE

Volume 11999

Proceedings of SPIE 0277-786X, V. 11999

Ultrafast Phenomena and Nanophotonics XXVI, edited by Markus Betz, Abdulhakem Y. Elezzabi, Proc. of SPIE Vol. 11999, 1199901 · © 2022 SPIE · 0277-786X · doi: 10.1117/12.2635342 The papers in this volume were part of the technical conference cited on the cover and title page. Papers were selected and subject to review by the editors and conference program committee. Some conference presentations may not be available for publication. Additional papers and presentation recordings may be available online in the SPIE Digital Library at SPIEDigitalLibrary.org.

The papers reflect the work and thoughts of the authors and are published herein as submitted. The publisher is not responsible for the validity of the information or for any outcomes resulting from reliance thereon.

Please use the following format to cite material from these proceedings: Author(s), "Title of Paper," in Ultrafast Phenomena and Nanophotonics XXVI, edited by Markus Betz, Abdulhakem Y. Elezzabi, Proc. of SPIE 11999, Seven-digit Article CID Number (DD/MM/YYYY); (DOI URL).

ISSN: 0277-786X ISSN: 1996-756X (electronic)

ISBN: 9781510648692 ISBN: 9781510648708 (electronic)

Published by **SPIE** P.O. Box 10, Bellingham, Washington 98227-0010 USA Telephone +1 360 676 3290 (Pacific Time) SPIE.org Copyright © 2022 Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

Copying of material in this book for internal or personal use, or for the internal or personal use of specific clients, beyond the fair use provisions granted by the U.S. Copyright Law is authorized by SPIE subject to payment of fees. To obtain permission to use and share articles in this volume, visit Copyright Clearance Center at copyright.com. Other copying for republication, resale, advertising or promotion, or any form of systematic or multiple reproduction of any material in this book is prohibited except with permission in writing from the publisher.

Printed in the United States of America by Curran Associates, Inc., under license from SPIE.

Publication of record for individual papers is online in the SPIE Digital Library.



Paper Numbering: A unique citation identifier (CID) number is assigned to each article in the Proceedings of SPIE at the time of publication. Utilization of CIDs allows articles to be fully citable as soon as they are published online, and connects the same identifier to all online and print versions of the publication. SPIE uses a seven-digit CID article numbering system structured as follows:

• The first five digits correspond to the SPIE volume number.

• The last two digits indicate publication order within the volume using a Base 36 numbering system employing both numerals and letters. These two-number sets start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B ... 0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc. The CID Number appears on each page of the manuscript.

Contents

v Conference Committee

PLASMONICS

- 11999 02 Photoinduced transient symmetry breaking in plasmonic structures for ultrafast nanophotonics (Invited Paper) [11999-2]
- 11999 03 Plasmonic nano-focusing of particle beams by surface crunch-in plasmons excited in tapered tubes [11999-3]
- 11999 04 Propagation analysis of space-time surface plasmon polariton wave packet excited by light irradiation on nanobeam structure [11999-4]

QUANTUM EMITTERS

11999 05 Theoretical analysis of correlations between two quantum fields exciting a three-level system using the cluster-expansion approach [11999-19]

ULTRAFAST MAGNETISM

11999 06 Helicity sensitive temporal profile of the photocurrent in semiconductor nanocomposite thin film [11999-12]

CARRIER DYNAMICS IN SEMICONDUCTORS AND 2D MATERIALS

- 11999 07 **2D** electronic spectroscopic techniques towards quantum technology applications (Invited Paper) [11999-21]
- 11999 08 Femtosecond regime nonlinear absorption in group IV semiconductor materials [11999-25]

NONLINEAR OPTICS

- 11999 09 Microscopic simulations of high harmonic generation from semiconductors [11999-33]
- 11999 0A Maxwell-Semiconductor Bloch simulations of high-harmonic generation in finite thickness semiconductor slabs [11999-44]

2D MATERIALS

11999 OB Amplitude mode-driven ultrafast transition into a hidden state in a thin film of transition metal dichalcogenide (Invited Paper) [11999-40]

ULTRAFAST ASPECTS OF OPTICAL SOURCES

11999 OC Ultrafast responses of uniform- and gradient-doped GaAs photocathodes: from theory to experiment [11999-38]

REAL-TIME SPECTROSCOPY AND ULTRAFAST MEASUREMENTS

11999 0D Amplified correlated beams [11999-39]

Conference Committee

Symposium Chairs

Sonia M. García-Blanco, Universiteit Twente (Netherlands)
Bernd Witzigmann, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany)

Symposium Co-Chairs

 Sailing He, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden) and Zhejiang University (China)
 Yasuhiro Koike, Keio University (Japan)

Program Track Chairs

James G. Grote, Photonics Engineering Consultant (United States) Shibin Jiang, AdValue Photonics, Inc. (United States)

Conference Chairs

Markus Betz, Technische Universität Dortmund (Germany) Abdulhakem Y. Elezzabi, University of Alberta (Canada)

Conference Program Committee

Alan D. Bristow, West Virginia University (United States) Keshav Dani, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University (Japan) Jeff Davis, Swinburne University of Technology (Australia) Kimberley C. Hall, Dalhousie University (Canada) Rupert Huber, Universität Regensburg (Germany) Robert A. Kaindl, Arizona State University (United States) Dai-Sik Kim, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (Korea, Republic of) Xiaogin Li, The University of Texas at Austin (United States) Christoph Lienau, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg (Germany) James Lloyd-Hughes, The University of Warwick (United Kingdom) Torsten Meier, Universität Paderborn (Germany) Frank J. Meyer zu Heringdorf, Universität Duisburg-Essen (Germany) Walter Pfeiffer, Universität Bielefeld (Germany) Pascal Ruello, Le Mans Université (France) Volker J. Sorger, The George Washington University (United States) Fabrice Vallee, Institut Lumière Matière (France)

Kam Sing Wong, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Hong Kong, China)